Short Story Corner: The Golf Outing

I went golfing with Pete and Horsey Joe yesterday at Ruffled Meadows, and I was having one of those days. I lost seven balls and flung three clubs into the water. And that was just on the practice green.

As we walked to the first tee, my confidence couldn’t have been any lower. It didn’t help that I accidentally wore my bowling shoes instead of my golf spikes. Though I have to admit, that wasn’t as bad as the time I wore my golf spikes to the bowling tournament. Or the time I wore my hip waders to my wedding.

Horsey Joe could sense my trepidation as I trudged to the first tee. He sidled up to me and put his hand on my shoulder.

“Be the ball,” he whispered in a calming voice. “Be the ball.”

Mind you, Horsey Joe is a scratch golfer. By that I mean he scratches himself inappropriately whenever he hits a good shot. But he’s also a pretty good golfer.

Hmmm, I thought to myself. Be the ball. It’s worth a try.

I put down my driver, laid down on the ground and curled up tightly next to the tee. Pete and Horsey Joe immediately began whacking me with their clubs.

I was the ball. It was better for all of us that way.

One Response to Short Story Corner: The Golf Outing

  1. lee says:

    This story makes me wanna bawl.

Leave a Reply

